Roofing project for Brady Fire Hall

   Wednesday morning at their regular meeting time, commissioners Sandy Broesder and Cyndi Johnson met with Roger Keith of the Pondera County Rural Fire District.
   The purpose was to discuss options of a leaking roof at the Brady Fire Hall.
   The building is owned by the county and is home to the fire trucks used by the BVFD.
   Keith had a number of proposals on hand from contractors that ranged from $3,800 for a snow seal to a metal roof and siding option of approximately $25,700.
   The age of the building is not known and it is stucco covered. Neither the county nor the district can afford to build a new fire hall.
   Keith noted that the Brady School truck barn would make an excellent fire hall, saying, “It looked to be in good shape and if it could be taken back.”
   Commissioner Broesder suggested, at this time, “Just to put a band aid on this until we can do it right.”
   Keith will check out the cost of putting a sealing on the roof and what was needed, about getting some volunteers to help put it on and will meet again with the commissioners.
   In other business before the commission, bids were open for the dismantling, moving and reconstruction of a communications tower at the Broken Pick site.
   LeAnn Hermance from Disaster and Emergency Services was on hand to open the bids.
   Three bids were received, one from Northwestern tower of Missoula for $91,635, Hi-Line Communications of Cut Bank for $83,200, using the existing tower and one for $87,200 use a new tower. The third bid came from Preferred Tank and Tower out of Evanston, Ill. for $78,500.
   Commissioner Johnson moved to take the bids under advisement for further study and comparison. That passed on a 2-0 vote.
   Commissioners moved, 2-0 vote, to approve an abatement for D. and P. Morita due to an error in assessment as a mobile home burned and was still on the tax rolls. They will received a refund for $124.20.
   A sub-contract was approved with the state Department of Public Health and Human Services for the Montanan tobacco Use Prevention Program for FY-2009-10.
   The funding of $31,930 is from federal funding, passed on to counties by the state.

   Hi-Line Recovery was designated as the county’s service provider to receive earmarked alcohol tax money for the provision of prevention outpatient and ACT services for FY-2010. Funding for this program comes from the state, based on county population.
   Johnson also moved to approve the excavation agreement requested by 3 Rivers Communications to start an excavation on and under the Hog Johnson road at the intersection of Price Road S. for the purpose of installing fiber optic telecommunications facilities to rural subscribers.
   The action passed on a 2-0 vote.
   Sheriff Tom Kuka put in a request that the commissioners approve an extension of time for the employees of the PCSO because they were not able to use their leave time due to staff shortages and weather emergencies since Jan. 1.
   State law says employees may accumulate annual vacation time totaling not more than two times the maximum number of days earned annually.
   The employee forfeits hours in excess of the two-year allowable accrual unless used by March 31 or an extension of time to use the excess is granted.
   Johnson moved and Broesder seconded an extension of time to use excess leave hours to Bev Anderson, Eddy Erickson, Shannon Gabbard, Judy Sawyer and Carl Suta. The extension passed on a 2-0 vote.
   At an earlier public hearing, there had been discussion of the potential closing of a public railroad crossing south of Brady. At that time, the commissioners took the matter under advisement until they could speak with the landowner.
   After meeting with the landowner and an on-site inspection of the property, the commissioners determined that no action would be taken at this time.
   Commissioner Johnson moved to not search health insurance premium quotes this year and to accept the renewal rates offered by the current provider, Joint Powers Trust. The motion was seconded by Broesder and passed on a 2-0 vote.
   The next regular meting of the commissioners will be on May 13, 10 a.m. in the commissioners’ office in the courthouse.