Pondera County, others, qualify as disaster area

Pondera County and eight others had qualified for natural disaster assistance because contiguous to Toole and Valley counties that were designated as primary natural disaster areas.

The other counties include Glacier, Liberty, Phillips, Daniels, Garfield, McCone, and  Roosevelt.

The counties listed above were designated natural disaster areas Nov. 24, making all qualified farm operators eligible for low interest emergency (EM) loans from USDA’s Farm Service Agency (FSA), provided requirements are met.

Farmers in eligible counties have eight months from the date of declaration to apply for loans to help cover part of their actual losses from drought and other disasters that occurred in 2009.

The FSA will consider each loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability

The FSA also has a variety of programs, in addition to the EM loan program, to help eligible farmers recover from adversity.

The USDA Other programs are available to assist farmers and ranchers, such as the Supplemental Revenue Assistance Program (SURE), which was approved as part of the Food, Conservation, and Energy Act of 2008; the Emergency Conservation Program;  Federal Crop Insurance; and the Noninsured Crop Disaster Assistance Program.

Interested farmers may contact our local FSA office at 278-7611 for further information and requirements or see their website at disaster.fsa.usda.gov .