Commencement exercise has 45 seniors receiving diplomas

06_grads0306HOORAY! — Conrad High School seniors, Class of 2011, toss their hats towards the gym ceiling after their presentation by CHS Principal Ken Larson, marking the end of the 101st graduation commencement exercise on Sunday afternoon. I-O Photo by Buck Traxler

By Buck Traxler, I-O Editor

The weather outside may have been frightful, but that didn’t dampen the spirits of 45 Conrad High School seniors who walked across the gym floor one last time to be handed a graduation diploma.

It was the one hundred-first annual commencement exercise for the high school.

Two-by-two the seniors filed in as the CHS band, under the direction of Todd Truscott, played the traditional processional. The National Anthem was sung by members of the Skyliner singing group.

Senior class advisor, Sam Vidal, gave a short welcoming address in which he said he was honored to have worked with this class.

Class President Nikki Linn then introduced the class speakers, Amanda Lee, Megan Coffelt, and Sierra Richardson.

The Junior-Senior Choir presented a rendition of I Will Remember You with Carol Johns playing the piano.


Anticipation began to build as the ever popular Then and Now slide show began. Set to music, the slides show the graduating seniors’ baby photo and graduation picture.


The moment had come after the final slide was viewed. It was time for school board members Joe Russell and Jill Johnson to hand out diplomas.

One special moment came when trustee Johnson was able to hand her daughter her diploma.

Following the last diploma handed out, Debbie Ostertag, CHS counselor gave a closing address and then CHS Principal Ken Larson presented the Class of 2011, to parents, relatives and friends.

It was time for the motor boards to go flying in the air.

The Class of 2011 filed into the commons for a reception line, staying out of the rain.

The senior class consisted of  Courtney Patricia Anderson, Lexianna Princessa Arellano, Kara Lynn Bandow*, Brett Thomas Bishop, Cameron Dwayne Bowen, Kasey Faye Brownell*, Olivia Campbell, Megan Brooke Coffelt*, Devin James Cox, Shelby Anne DeVries, Heather Cheryl Dudley, Kyle Christopher Ellis, Hugh Kingsley, Frank Engelby-Boyle, Kelli Marie Fagan, Caleb Scott Goyette, Graham Thomas Grubb*, Grant Erling Grubb, Trae James Hutton, Christopher Earl Jensen, Geoffrey Alan Johnson, Taylor Nicole Johnson*, Erica Eileen Jones, Calen Eugene King, Nathan J. Kleinsasser*, Colter James Knox, Rachel Inez Lamb*, Amanda Rachel Lee, Zachary Robert M. Lettenga, Nikki Marie Linn*,  Sara Marie Miller, Michael Wayne Murphy, Oliver Ramsey Offerdal, Jr., Joseph James Richard O’Brien, Shane Douglas Rauscher, Sierra Dawn Richardson, Jessica Marie Robinson, Katie Mae Robinson, Alexis Samantha Samsal, John James Schlosser, Ashana Marie Schreiner, Sydney Lauren Slezak*, Amber Lee Stenson*, Bobbie Thereasa Swan and Bryce Carl Watterud. The asterisk denotes membership to the National Honor Society.

The senior class officers were Nikki Linn, president; Kasey Brownell VP; Sydney Slezak, secretary; Ramsey Offerdal and Megan Coffelt were the class representatives. Joylynn Petrosky and Sam Vidal were class advisors.

A new addition this year was the handing out to each senior a rose as they came off stage with their diploma. Rashelle Johns and Amelia DeBoo took care of this duty.

Ushers for the ceremony were National Honor Society members Ciara Bender, Meagan Breding, Erica Grubb, Shanae Newmiller and Calvin Ophus.

A new adventure is about to begin for the Class of 2011.