County eligible for FEMA help

The Department of Homeland Security’s Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced this week that 15 additional counties (Pondera County) and one reservation are now eligible for FEMA’s individual assistance to help homeowners, renters and businesses recover from the effects of the severe storms and flooding that took place from April 4 to July 22.

Pondera, Blaine, Broadwater, Carter, Chouteau, Fallon, Flathead, Golden Valley, Madison, Park, Phillips, Powell, Rosebud, Toole, Wibaux and the Fort Peck Reservation were added to the federal disaster declaration.

President Barack Obama declared a major disaster declaration for the state of Montana on June 17.  It was amended on July 26 to include 16 counties and three reservations for Individual Assistance. Now a total of 31 counties and four reservations are eligible for individual assistance.


“We are pleased with the addition of these 15 counties and one reservation to the disaster declaration,” said Montana Governor Brian Schweitzer. “The residents in these areas need the assistance these disaster programs can provide while they recover.”


“Even if you registered with the state or your county, you still need to register specifically with FEMA to be eligible for assistance,” said Montana Disaster and Emergency Services Administrator Ed Tinsley.

He went on to say, “FEMA assistance is available for recovery costs such as housing assistance, personal property, vehicle repair or replacement and moving and storage expenses.

State and federal officials encourage those affected by the disaster to register for assistance immediately by calling toll-free 1-800-621-FEMA (3362). Those with a speech disability or hearing loss and use a TTY, call 1-800-462-7585 TTY directly.  These toll-free lines are in operation from 5 a.m. - 8 p.m. (MDT) until further notice. Registration can be done online anytime at .