Board and hero nominations being sought by CofC

35_cofc-eds1580BUSINESS AWARD  — The Business award for the “best dressed” business during the Christmas Stroll went to Ed’s Tavern. Presenting the award to Gloria Auge and Randy Rudd is CofC board member Bev Widhalm. Looking on are CofC VP Gerald Miller and CofC secretary Melinda Russett.  I-O Photo by Buck Traxler

By Buck Traxler, I-O Editor

While not until after the first of the New Year, Melinda Russett of the Conrad Area Chamber of Commerce is already seeking nominations for board members and special awards for the annual dinner in March.

Three board members are going to exit the board and they include President Joel Farkell, Golden Triangle Property Services, Mary Erickson representing the Pondera Medical Center and Carole Jones from Pure Bliss Cycle.

The current board consists of Joan Jensen, Stockman Bank; Barbie Killion, Ken Larson, CHS School District; Gerald Miller, Gerald’s Auto Service; Darin Stanley, Farm Bureau Insurance; Cindie Vandenberg, Van Motors;  and Bev Widhalm, Conrad Tire.

There is a slate of candidates on the ballot which has been mailed and they consist of Mike Lytle (incumbent) from Mike’s Mufflers and More; Gloria Auge of Ed’s Tavern; Jennifer Byrnes from The Lobby; Laurie Eisenzimer Firm First American Title Company; Shari Gianarelli of the Gianarelli Law Firm; Mike Harding of Weikum Inn and Big Ox BBQ and Catering; Jennifer Marsicano of The Nu Body Retreat; and Tracy Scheeler from Jathco.

CofC members need to vote and return their ballot by Jan. 15 along with their membership form.

In addition, nominations are now being taken for the Unsung Hero award. This prestigious award goes out to an individual who volunteers their time and energy toward the betterment of Conrad and deserves recognition for their efforts.

Also on tap is the Business Leadership award, presented to a business person who has shown outstanding commitment to the Conrad business community.

Nominations are being sought for the Clydesdale award. This fairly new award is meant for and presented to a group or organization that has displayed a workhorse ethic and shown team work, working together, on a concept of a project for the benefit of our area.

And, the Outstanding CofC board member will be presented to a current member of the board who participates in CofC activities, solicits new members and has a regular attendance at meetings and luncheon meetings.

Last year Mark Gage was named the Unsung Hero, the Conrad Lions Club won the Clydesdale award and Jamey Byrnes was the Business Leader award winner.

If you need more information on these awards or have questions, contact Melinda Russett, Executive Chamber secretary at 271-7791.