County water and sewer district elections cancelled

HOSE TESTING  —  The Conrad Volunteer Firemen were out early on Saturday to begin testing hoses. Every hose is tested for 10 minutes at 200 pounds of pressure. There are about 150 hoses for the department each averaging 50 feet in length.  I-O Photo by Buck Traxler






There will not be an election of directors for the Brady County Water and Sewer District, the Tiber County Water District or the Conrad County Water District this November.

Montana law provides that if there are an equal number of individuals who file for positions on the board of directors that have open positions, the election can be cancelled and the people who did file for the positions are declared elected by acclamation.

If there are not enough candidates, or no filings for any of the positions, the board of directors, or in some instances the county commissioners may appoint individuals to serve to those positions.

Olive Cox filed for re-election to the director position she currently holds on the Brady County Water and Sewer district and Clinton Rouns filed for the open director position. Both will be declared elected by acclamation. The new term of office begins Jan. 1, 2014 and ends on Dec. 31, 2017.

There were two positions on the Tiber County Water District Board this year and no one filed for either position.

Board members will be appointed by the current board of directors of the Tiber County Water District to serve in the director positions.

In addition, there were three positions to be filled for the Conrad County Water District, two-four-year terms and one two-year term.

Because all positions on the board are up for election, appointments will be made by the Pondera County Commissioners.

The qualifications to serve on the board of a water district are the person must be a registered voter and a resident of or owner or lessee of real property in the district.

These positions are non-partisan.

If an individual is interested in serving on one of these board and meets the qualifications as stated, he or she should submit a letter requesting to be appointed to the secretary of the appropriate board of directors.

Tiber County Water District is composed of portions of Pondera, Toole, Teton, Liberty, and Chouteau counties. Carol Johns serves as secretary to the Tiber County board and her address is 3548 Ledger Road, Conrad, 59425.

Joan Weikum is the secretary of the Brady Water District and can be contacted at Box 145, Brady, 59416. The district is comprised of that area within the boundaries of the Town of Brady.

Current directors of the Conrad County District are Troy Shirley, Keri DeGroat and Eugene Underdahl.

The district is made up of properties within areas of Edgewood Road and Slate Road.

Editor’s note: If you have questions or need more information, contact Election Administrator/Clerk and Recorder Kody Farkell in the county courthouse, 271-4000.