Mielke named Teacher of the Year

By Buck Traxler, I-O Editor
Mielke named Teacher of the Year
NUMBER ONE — Carol Mielke, a first grade teacher at Meadowlark School, was named the Outstanding Teacher of the Year for District 10. She was presented her award by last year’s winner Janie McFarland (L) and school trustee Jan Carter during an awards ceremony at Meadowlark School on Wednesday. I-O Photo by Buck Traxler
   Wednesday afternoon the Conrad School District 10 presented their employee recognition program in the Meadowlark School multi-purpose room.
   Going on 13 years, the program began in order to recognize personnel staff who are deserving of a special honor.
   Jill Johnson, the vice chairman of the school trustees welcomed all the teachers and certified staff to the day’s event.
   Before the awards were presented former Conrad High School student Nicole Lindberg sang Somewhere Over the Rainbow, and received a standing ovation. She also sang a second number later in the program.
   Superintendent of School Lynn Utterback commented, “I heard her sing at the Chamber banquet and knew she had to entertain here.”
   Carol Mielke, a first grade instructor at Meadowlark School for 13 years was honored as the Outstanding Teacher of the Year.
   She was presented her award by last year’s winner Janie McFarland and school trustee Jan Carter.
   She joins other certified staff beginning with Bill Jimmerson, Chuck Powers, Cheryl Schlepp, Linda Garnett, Carol Gunderson, Tara Thielman, Monica Tomayer, Jim Carroll, Debbie Perry, Beth Ann Bolmeier, Carol Brownell, and Janie McFarland.
   A number of personnel were recognized for their length of time working in the District. Called up by Elementary Principal Craig Barringer, CHS Principal Ken Larson and PVS Principal Greg Jensen presented service pins.
   A five-year pin went to Karen Grubb; 10-year pins were awarded to Dan Brown, Kay LaBarre, and Gavin Grammar.
   Twenty-year pins were presented to Jeff Sullivan and Connie Sullivan.
   Margy Johnson, a sixth grade teacher at UMS received a 25-year pin.  She was also the recipient of a special plaque as she plans to retire at the end of this school year.
   Carole Brownell (5th) and Linda Garnett (2nd) received 30-year pins. They teach at PVS and Meadowlark schools receptively.
   Ed Corder, a school custodian, was selected as the Outstanding Classified Employee of the Year.
   Brenda Slezak, last year’s winner and school trustee Carter, presented him his award.
   Former honoree’s included Betty McBratney, Leona Linn, Barb Brunner, Donna Schlepp, Afton Lamoreaux, Jeff Sullivan, Molly Jimmerson, Linda Carlson, Tammy Jones, Sandy Shirley, Becky Meier, Roxy Zomer, and Brenda Slezak.
   Mielke’s name will be forwarded to the state teacher of the year program and “We wish her all the best in that,” commented Utterback.